Ablett Jnr wins the AFL’s MVP award, again.

By Brad Eveleigh ( @Brad_Eveleigh )

Screen shot 2013-09-11 at 12.01.31 PM

Gold Coast Suns star Gary Ablett Jnr has won the 2013 AFL Players’ Association’s Most Valuable Player award for the second consecutive year.

It is a record fifth Leigh Matthews Trophy for Ablett but this time by a record margin in the 3, 2 and 1 voting format by his peers.

With a staggering 1479 votes, the 29-year-old shattered second placed Geelong captain Joel Selwood, who totalled 1004 votes.

The margin of victory has now place Ablett as the favourite to take out the prestigious Brownlow Medal in two weeks time.

He also won the award three years straight when playing with Geelong from 2007 to 2009.

No other player has won the award more than twice. Chris Judd, Greg Williams, Wayne Carey and Michael Voss are the only other multiple winners.

This year, Ablett kicked 28 goals and averaged 31 disposals in his 21 games for the Suns.

He is also expected to receive his seventh straight All Australian honour next week.

Other results on the night seen Joel Selwood voted the AFL’s best captain and his third Most Courageous Player in the league award.

Gold Coast Suns medal tally grew as Jaeger O’Meara was named the Best First-Year Player and Essendon Bombers’ Dyson Heppell was honoured with the captain of the inaugural 22under22 team, a side containing the competition’s best players in that age category.


pic: afl players.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s