Ricciardo motivated by vacant seat at Red Bull

By Karen Touma ( @KarenTouma )

Image

After a stellar performance during qualifying at the British Grand Prix, Daniel Ricciardo has made a mark on his bid to be in the sought after driving seat at Red Bull next season.

Suggestions of Ricciardo lifted his game since the news of Mark Webber’s decision to leave Formula 1 at the end of the season have been taken light heartedly.

On reflection of this weekend at Silverstone, “Obviously this was one of the best weekends of my F1 career – and I’m hearing quite a lot about how I’ve upped my game because Mark Webber’s leaving Red Bull Racing.”

“How do you respond to reporting like that? I think you just have to giggle and let it go,”

“Excited that there’s a seat up for grabs? Definitely.” He admitted

“More motivated and trying harder than I have been before? Trust me, I’ve been trying as hard as I can since I got here – and the motivation’s been at maximum for as long as I can remember,”

In light of the upcoming German Grand Prix, Ricciardo added “Waking up this morning (Tuesday) I’m a fairly happy man. It’s my birthday, I’m 24. I’ve got family in town and there’s a nice dinner on the cards. I think I’m even allowed a beer – but only one pint because we’ve got a race this weekend.”

Leave a Reply

