Jorge Lorenzo triumphs in Barcelona

Jorge Lorenzo

By Karen Touma ( @KarenTouma )

Reigning world champion Jorge Lorenzo had is third career win at the Catalunya MotoGP on Sunday following victories in Qatar and Italy earlier this season. The win in Spain closes the gap between the current championship leader, Dani Pedrosa to just seven points.

The Spaniard moved from third on the grid to first before the first corner and maintained his lead throughout the remainder of the race.

Pedrosa managed to fend off his Honda teammate Marc Marquez in the final stages of the races with the rookie finishing in third.

The good start for Lorenzo turned out to be crucial for the Yamaha rider as he struggled with the high temperatures.

“I knew that the start would be crucial and I couldn’t afford to let Dani get away from me,” said the 26 year-old Yamaha rider.

“I got lucky and actually passed him and although he pressured me for a while he let up at halfway and I was able to relax a bit. It was a nightmare race to ride in because of the temperature.”

Despite spending much of the race defending the attack of Marc Marquez, Pedrosa was pleased with his performance.

“It was not a perfect race for me as I was never close enough to Jorge to pass him. It’s not a good feeling from this race but still I am relieved to be in the overall lead.”

Marquez, the 20 year-old rookie said that Pedrosa did well to keep him at bay.

“As I prepared to attack Dani he braked early and that forced me to as well which cost me valuable time,” he said.

“I pushed 100% on the last lap and really made back that ground but he held on and I can only be happy with finishing on the podium.”

MotoGP World Standing

MotoGP World Standing

Leave a Reply

